About the Commissioners


The Board of Sumter County Commissioners is the legislative and governing body of the County.

Sumter County is a Constitutional County, meaning that authority to operate is derived directly from the Constitution of the State of Florida and not from a locally adopted charter.

District Commissioners
There are five single member District Commissioners, each elected from one of five geographic areas of the County. Each commissioner must reside in the district he represents. The Commissioners are elected at large.
Commission terms are four years. The terms of Districts 2 and 4 are staggered with the terms of Districts 1, 3, and 5.

The Board selects a Chairman from among the members, a Vice Chairman and Second Vice Chairman who presides over the Board in the absence of the Chairman.

Commissioner Duties
Chapter 125 of the Florida Statutes establishes numerous specific duties such as:
  • Adopting ordinances and resolutions, which establish policies and programs to protect the health, safety, and general welfare of the citizens of the county
  • Adopting an operating budget for the functions of the county government
  • Appointing the County Administrator to carry out executive responsibilities


Sumter County will be an innovative and strategic leader in providing essential and effective customer service in a fiscally efficient manner.


The mission of Sumter County is to provide the most efficient, effective, and responsive services to our communities and to achieve economic growth in a safe and nurturing environment.


Fiscal Responsibility
Ethical Conduct
Respect for Individual and Property Rights
Commitment to Outstanding Customer Service
Professionalism & Leadership